Wild (from lost to found on the Pacific crest trail) by Cheryl Strayed

…This was once Mazama, I kept reminding myself.  This was once a mountain  that stood nearly 12,000 feet tall and then had its heart removed.  This was once a wasteland of lava and pumice and ash.  This was once an empty bowl that took hundreds of years to fill.  But hard as I tried, I couldn’t see them in my mind’s eye.  Not the mountain or the wasteland or the empty bowl.  They simply were not there anymore.  There was only the stillness and silence of that water:  what a mountain and a wasteland and an empty bowl turned into after the healing began.

This describing her experience of seeing Crater Lake, here in Cheryl Strayed’s book I simply needed to stop and let the words flow through me.  I love how it happens so often that the very book I need will be the one I have somehow come to be reading.  

Leave a Reply

